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COMBINE EXPANSIONS

Remove all Noble tiles during setup when using  
“The Cities” module.

Check the requirements for gaining a Trading Post tile 
before checking to see if you fulfill the requirements  

of a City tile.

• �The Trading Post tile which allows you to draw 2 cards 
and reserve 1 of them also applies to the 3 Orient decks.

• �The Orient card which grants 2 virtual Gold pieces can 
be used with the power of the Trading Post tile that 
doubles the value of spent Gold pieces.

• �If you discard a card, and this causes you to no longer 
fulfill the requirements of a Trading Post tile that you 
have already acquired, you still get to keep that tile.

These two modules can be played individually  
with the base game, or be combined with each other 

and/or other Splendor expansions. Please refer  
to the text below for any rules modifications  
that may apply when using these modules.

GAME RULES

Travel the Cities of the Silk Road  
and rise to new challenges.

Marc André

The Silk RoadThe Silk RoadThe Cities
Amboise, Delhi, Krakow, Madrid, Samarkand,  

Seoul, Timbuktu: Each city seeks to create a unique piece  
of jewelry, and is willing to spend lavishly in order to do so.

Will you be able to satisfy  
these extravagant demands?

The Trading Posts
The Silk Road is no longer adequate to meet the demands 

from the booming trade among the various empires,  
so each guild begins opening new trading posts  

in distant lands and territories.

Which guild will be able to best adapt quickly  
to the new era of global trading?

• 7 double-sided City tiles

• 20 Trading Post tiles (4 per color)

• 1 Noble tile
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Setup
Place 5 stacks of Trading Post 
tiles (1 for each type of Trading 
Post power; see below). Each 
stack should contain a number 
of tiles equal to the number of 
players. Place the stacks near the 
base game cards so that they are 
below the Noble (or City) tiles.

Additional Rules
At the end of your turn (after checking whether you fulfill the requirements to acquire a Noble), check if you meet the conditions 
of any Trading Post tile that you don’t already have; if you do, take that tile and place it in front of you. You benefit from the 
power of that tile until the end of the game. You can have several Trading Post tiles in front of you. You can only take 1 Trading 
Post tile per turn, and you cannot take a tile if you already have a tile with that power.

Powers of the Trading Post tiles

 THE CITIES 

Setup
Return the Noble tiles to the box; 
they will not be used.
Instead, shuffle the City tiles, and 
randomly choose 3 of them to put 
in play. Place each of these tiles with 
a random side face-up.
The remaining City tiles should be 
returned to the box; they will not be used during this game.

Additional Rules
The end-of-game trigger conditions are modified. At the 
end of your turn, check if you fulfill both of the following 
requirements for any City:

Have a number of Prestige points greater than 
or equal to the value shown on the tile.

Have at least the quantity and type of cards 
indicated on the tile, similar to that of a Noble tile.
Note: The 44 , 55 , and 66  requirements mean 

you must have at least the indicated number 
of cards of the same color; this color cannot be 
the same as any other requirement on the tile.

�

 THE TRADING POSTS 

End of Game
Once a player fulfills the requirements of a City, finish 
the current round. 

If, at the end of that round, only one player fulfills the 
requirements of any City, that player wins the game.

If several players fulfill the requirements of any City or 
Cities, compare the Prestige points of those players with 
each other; whichever of them has the most Prestige points 
wins the game. In the event of a tie, the player (among those 
tied) with the fewest cards in their play area wins the game. 
If it’s still tied, the tied players share the victory.

Example: To fulfill the requirements of this City, you 
must have at least 14 Prestige points, 4 white cards, and 
4 cards of a different color (such as green, as shown here).

Requirement: You must have at least 3 red cards and 1 white card.

Power: Immediately after purchasing any card and before replacing it, take any 1 piece (except 
a Gold piece). The piece you take can be one of those you just spent.

Requirement: You must have at least 2 white cards.

Power: After taking 2 pieces of the same color, take 1 piece of another color (except a Gold 
piece).

Requirement: You must have at least 3 blue cards and 1 black card.

Power: When purchasing a card, each Gold piece you spend is worth 2 pieces of the same 
color. If you pay more than the required number of pieces, you do not get the overpaid piece 
back. Each of your Gold pieces is worth 1 piece for the end-of-turn limit.

Requirement: You must have at least 5 green cards.

Power: This tile earns you 1 Prestige point for each Trading Post you have (including this one). 
This may trigger the end of the game if this causes you to have the required amount of Prestige.

Requirement: You must have at least 3 black cards.

Power: When you reserve a card from 1 of the 3 decks, draw the first 2 cards from the chosen 
deck without showing them to the other players. Keep 1, which you reserve as normal, and 
return the other card to the bottom of its deck.


